Slide Heading
Lorem ipsum dolor sit amet, consectetur adipiscing elit. Ut elit tellus, luctus nec ullamcorper mattis, pulvinar dapibus leo.
Click Here
Previous slide
Next slide
MILLER AQ Testimonials
AQ Endorsement-SadeqaJohnson
MILLER AQ Testimonials (2)
MILLER AQ Testimonials (1)

Have you seen the beautiful cover of THE AMERICAN QUEEN? Release Date is January 30, 2024!

Hardcover library edition, releasing simultaneously with the paperback!

In 1869 a kingdom rose in the South. And Louella was its queen.

Over the twenty-four years she’s been enslaved on the Montgomery Plantation, Louella learned to feel one thing: hate. Hate for the man who sold her mother. Hate for the overseer who left her daddy to hang from a noose. Hate so powerful there’s no room in her heart for love, not even for the honorable Reverend William, whom she likes and respects enough to marry.

But when William finally listens to Louella’s pleas and leads the formerly enslaved people out of their plantation, Louella begins to replace her hate with hope. Hope that they will find a place where they can live free from fear. Hope that despite her many unanswered prayers, she can learn to trust for new miracles.

Soon, William and Louella become the appointed king and queen of their self-proclaimed Kingdom of the Happy Land. And though they are still surrounded by opposition, they continue to share a message of joy and goodness–and fight for the freedom and dignity of all.

Transformative and breathtakingly honest, The American Queen shares the unsung true history of a kingdom built as a refuge for the courageous people who dared to dream of a different way of life.

Exclusive Pre-Order Links!

Exclusive pre-order special!

Exclusive pre-order special!

Exclusive pre-order special!

Latest Release...

Two girls’ lives are irrevocably intertwined the summer of 1985 in the streets of Brooklyn, New York, and neither will ever be the same in this coming-of-age story that spans decades.

In the summer of 1985, Lisa Whitaker is a church kid headed to college on a scholarship while her best friend, Dana, is floundering in the wake of her mother’s latest eviction. Though Lisa tries to help, their paths diverge. Fifteen years later, Lisa has a beautiful family and is stepping into her dream job as the director for a social services organization. Everything is going right—until her future is snatched away by identity theft. Her life begins to unravel, and Lisa wants nothing more than to see the woman responsible pay for her crimes.

When she was a teenager, Dana Jones always felt alone in this world. Her mother was addicted to drugs, her boyfriend was entering a life of crime, and it seemed Dana, too, was heading down the wrong path. The only bright light was her friendship with Lisa. Now, in the new millennium, Dana finally gives herself permission to dream—to believe she is stepping into better days. But when the betrayal of their friendship comes to light, it will take a lifetime to forgive the destruction that youthful summer in Bed-Stuy set in motion.

In this latest story from beloved author Vanessa Miller, two girls from the Bed-Stuy neighborhood of Brooklyn, New York, find that their paths have been woven together by the love of community and a friendship that is tested by time, betrayal and unforgiveness.

  • Stand-alone inspirational Christian fiction
  • Perfect for fans of Tara M. Stringfellow, Terry McMillan, and Kimberla Lawson Roby
  • Includes discussion questions for book clubs

Upcoming Events (Live & Virtual)

2024
24 Feb
4139 Park Road Charlotte, NC 

Park Road Books

February 24, 2024 • 2pm – 4pm

Park Road Books

4139 Park Road

Charlotte, NC

2024
25 Feb
Barnes & Nobl

Barnes & Noble (Signing Only)

February 25, 2024 – 2pm – 4pm

Barnes & Noble (signing only)

3327 Pineville-Matthews Road

Charlotte, NC

Book Tour: Book Discussion

 

March 2nd • 1pm-3pm ET

Brown Books and More

2119 Westmead Dr SW Suite 10

Decatur, AL 35603

Get Tickets
2024
03 Mar
Thank You Bookstore

On the Blog

By: Vanessa Miller I had this amazing idea for a historical, so as an author of over 50 books, I think, hey, I’m going to...
Read More
By: Vanessa Miller, Author of The American Queen If I told you that a kingdom had been set up in America and ruled by Black...
Read More
Hey book clubs and women’s ministry groups, we want to see you reading SOMETHING GOOD in March of 2022. Our goal is to sign up...
Read More

Something Good

The Story

When three women find their lives inextricably linked after a terrible mistake, they must work together to make the most of their futures.

Alexis Marshall never meant to cause the accident that left Jon-Jon Robinson paralyzed—but though guilt plagues her, her husband hopes to put the past behind them. After all, he’s in the middle of selling a tech business—and if Alexis admits to texting while driving, the deal could collapse and cost them millions. Meanwhile, Alexis’s life is not as shiny and perfect as it may seem from the outside. She has secrets of her own. As she becomes consumed with thoughts of the young man she hit, can she reconcile her mistake with her husband’s expectations?

Trish Robinson is just trying to hold it together after the accident that left Jon-Jon dependent and depressed. As the bills pile up, Trish and her husband, Dwayne, find themselves at odds. Trish wants to forgive and move on, but Dwayne is filled with rage toward the entitled woman who altered their lives forever. Trish can’t see how anything good can come from so much hate and strife, so she determines to pray until God intervenes. Then one afternoon Marquita Lewis rings their doorbell with a baby in her arms and changes everything.

READER NOTE

Contents & Resources

my favorite scripture

I was young and now I am old, yet I have never seen the righteous forsaken or their children begging bread. They are always generous and lend freely; their children will be a blessing. (Psalm 37:25-26)

my prayer for you

May neighbors respect you, trouble neglect you, angels protect you and heaven accept you!

my thoughts on ministry

My writing is a gift from God, and I write to touch the heart and souls of God’s people. I also believe we are all called to help our brothers and sisters in need.

“I love reading stories written by this author. She always incorporates love, mystery, and God into her books. Her stories are very enlightening and heartfelt.” ~ Goodreads Reader

Vanessa Miller

Love does no wrong to a neighbor; therefore love is the fulfilling of the law. Romans 13:10

Do you get my newsletter?

Click HERE to sign up for my monthly newsletter featuring events, releases, contests, and more!

Get all the Good News!

CLICK the button below to sign-up for my newsletter!
Subscribe NOW!